Wife in Spain. So writing a blog post.

Thulasy is away in Spain, which makes this blog run slower than normal. Come to a stop, actually. I haven’t posted since September when I was writing amid all the excitement of the Zambian elections. Coincidentally, that’s also when Thulasy was last in Spain.

So I suppose that must mean that I a) get bored when my wife leaves, and then b) take out my boredom on this blog. Since Thul’s been doing all the posting lately I feel a bit like an interloper. I need to keep from diluting Thul’s good writing with my poor rambling.

I may have started out this post with nothing to say, but I’ve now thought of something: our first year of marriage is off to a great start. People are now telling me, “don’t get too excited; it’s year three when things go south and the hard work starts.” Still, we had our fair share of First Year Warnings as well, but to date I couldn’t have asked for better.

A few mentionables:

We spend almost every waking hour together. Could have been unhealthy, but I find it wonderful. We eat breakfast together, walk to work together, work, come home, cook, hang out, brush our teeth, then do it all over again. The only time we’re really apart is when I go to the gym and she goes for a morning jog.

We practice. The best things I’ve learned about marriage has been that it pushes me to practice being kind and thoughtful at almost every moment of the day. Simply choosing whether or not to make the bed, make Thul breakfast, wash the few dishes in the sink, pack her a lunch, fold my laundry, play her music in the evening (and not Coldplay’s new cd for the 22nd time), fold her laundry, or get her a glass a water just before turning in. It’s the world best training ground for thinking less about myself and more about someone else.

We get invited out a lot. And we invite people over more, much more than when we were engaged. There’s something about being married that shouts for the roof-tops, “dinner party at our place!” or telepathically tells everyone that we’d make for fun dinner guests. So we spend more time with more couples and really enjoy it.

While we’re only four months into it, I think it’s safe to say we’re settling in to married life and wouldn’t have it any other way.

About Graham Lettner

I am the happy husband to Thulasy and happy father to Marya and Laurel. We live in Black Diamond, Alberta—if something in our blog strikes you please don't hesitate to get in touch!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment