Wonderfully out-of-sorts intuition

My body reacts instinctively when I notice that something’s amiss. It’s a out-of-sorts feeling maybe a bit similar to having a word on the tip of my tongue. It’s a feeling that doesn’t go away until I sort out the abnormality in question. Like wondering why there’s so little Monday morning road traffic until I realize that I’ve forgotten to make the jump to daylight savings time.

It’s what I felt this weekend in Harare. Walking down from the Avenues into downtown I caught sight of the most beautifully surreal skyscraper I’ve ever seen.

Tall, shimmering, with deep blue sky and tall white clouds reflecting off its wall of windows, almost challenging the real clouds and sky on who has better looks.

My intuition immediately told me something wasn’t right.  Skyscrapers don’t go with thick lawn and leafy trees; they get surrounded by concrete jungle. Sky never reflects bright blue nor clouds dazzling white; pollution, drizzle and dirty windows often dull any such sight. A solitary skyscraper doesn’t fit either; usually they’re packed together, each reflecting the other.

But there it was—the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe striking a magnificent pose on a Saturday morning in March.

Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe from behind the National Gallery

About Graham Lettner

My wife and I recently moved from Zambia back home to Alberta. I'm lucky to have been asked to be a guest blogger for the Localize Project. I love writing stories, and when the subject is food -- something that connects us to the planet and to each other -- the stories are endless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

