More or less why I’m not getting an MBA

I spoke to many of my friends (many of you, actually) about why I applied to go to business school. I explained, at length, all the reasons why it would be a good idea to get an get MBA. I scrutinized, at length, all the reasons why it wouldn’t. I spent a lot of money on applications and traveled halfway across the world for interviews. And yet, I torturously hemmed and hawed about the decision. It seemed that no matter which way it went, the choice was, inexplicably, obvious:

“Of course I should get an MBA. But of course, I shouldn’t.”

So, I’m not.

For some of you, this comes as a shock. For others, it doesn’t at all. After much deliberation, I can assure you that I definitely don’t want to do it. In fact, I told Graham the other day that as soon as I made the decision, I was sure that I wasn’t just postponing the MBA but that I had resolutely decided to forgo it.

I don’t really want to rationalize my decision out here; that would be both indulgent and boring. But what I do want to share are a few links that relate to why I decided not to go but are also interesting in and of themselves:

Working at a start-up is both exhilarating and exhausting, but it’s worth it, and an MBA won’t necessarily help me do it better. At the same time, I want to avoid, at all costs, becoming one of these people. Because in the words of Jake Plummer, “There’s more to life.” There’s actually more to us human beings in general, and I’d rather spend my time exploring and investing in all that good stuff instead.

If that doesn’t clearly explain why I’m not getting an MBA, then I’m afraid nothing will. ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More or less why I’m not getting an MBA

  1. Ibrahim Nambiema says:

    I like to know more about EWB work in Zambian and cost of living in Zambia.
    i will also like to know more about how you are helping rural poor improve their lives.

    Hoping to read from you soon.

    send to nambiemah@yahoo.com

  2. Amanda says:

    :)

    Good luck with wherever life takes you Thulasy – even and especially the “not business school” parts. ;)

Leave a Reply

