New Desk Decor

This past week I added something to the my desk décor:

It’s an invoice for two fiberglass trading booths, each costing $2607. Completely uninteresting, I know, so let me explain the back story.

To date, we’ve set up our new Champion agents by either renting out shop space, or renting out a trading booth from another company and setting it up in the location that we want. Thus the cost hasn’t been too high just the monthly rental fee. Also, ending a lease agreement is a fairly low cost thing to do.

But now not only are we purchasing these trading booths outright, we’re also purchasing them on credit. The new Champion agents who will transact from these trading booths have taken out micro-finance loans at 4% interest per month, loans that we’ve guaranteed as a company. Thus, if one of these Champion agents go sour we not only have to service an outstanding loan, but we also have $2607 of idle fiberglass on our hands.

Which is all to say that this is all a bit new for me as a manager. This invoice induces a previously unknown feeling in my gut, something like the nervousness or anxiety that comes when there’s money on the line. Gambling or betting on something is probably a decent approximation.

Whatever the exact feeling, it’s new and it’s a blunt reminder that I’ve got to make these agents profitable.

About Graham Lettner

My wife and I recently moved from Zambia back home to Alberta. I'm lucky to have been asked to be a guest blogger for the Localize Project. I love writing stories, and when the subject is food -- something that connects us to the planet and to each other -- the stories are endless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

